History of
Islamic University In Uganda

History of Islamic University In Uganda

The Islamic University in Uganda (IUIU) has established itself as an educational beacon for people from all across Africa, with its graduates reaching high academic levels and serving at prominent positions around the globe. Financed by the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), the university was established in 1988 to serve the English-Speaking Sub Saharan Africa. But since then the mission has expanded as the institution has continued to welcome students from across the continent and beyond. The university which began with only 80 students, two faculties; the Faculty of Education and the Faculty of Islamic Studies and Arabic Language and only one campus located at Nkoma Mbale, Eastern Uganda, now accommodates over 7000 students with six faculties and four campuses spread across the country. The university has graduated more than 10000 students in different disciplines including Islamic studies, Arabic Language, Law, Science, Liberal Arts and Social Sciences.

Success Recipe

The passion for learning under a multicultural environment which emphasizes the observance of Islamic morals and principles are the basis for the university's success recipe.

Fact sheet

Since its inception, the University has so far had 19 Graduation ceremonies. The university has 4 campuses spread across the country with the main campus located in Mbale, Eastern Uganda. Other campuses are; Kampala Campus, located at Kibuli Hill, East of Kampala Capital City, The Females' campus, West of Kampala Capital City and Arua campus in West Nile Region, Northern Uganda.

The University runs over 57 academic programmes under 7 faculties namely;

  1. The Faculty of Islamic Studies and Arabic Language
  2. The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
  3. The Faculty of Management Studies
  4. The Faculty of Education
  5. The Faculty of Science
  6. The Faculty of Law
  7. The Faculty of Health Sciences

A total of over 10,000 students have graduated with certificates, Diplomas, Bachelors, Master and PhDs.